Monster

http://alissaleonard.blogspot.com/2014/08/finish-that-thought-2-6.html#comment-form

His was the last face I expected to see outside my iron door. I unchained the rusted locks. He walked past me and my nostrils bristled at the stench of decaying flesh emitted from him. He took off his hat and hung it on the Minotaur horns mounted on the wall. With his face unhidden and the light of the candelabra flickering, Frankenstein’s Monster looked more horrific than even the first day the Doctor breathed electrical life into him. I couldn’t look away. His face haunted my dreams.

“Igor,” rasped the Monster, speaking like his lungs were full of dust from a long forgotten attic. I shook myself as much as possible to break my stare. “I’ve been searching for Father.” 

“I…I have not seen The Great Doctor since the incident,” I stammered. The Monster’s eyes grew misty and the memory of that fateful night flooded my senses. The lab had been bombarded with hostile villages ever since The Doctor’s Creation breathed its first breath. We barricaded the doors. But we did not expect an even greater threat to come from above. Dracula’s army of bloodsuckers attacked through the skylights. Their giant wings shattered the glass and cascaded upon us. Only the Monster fought his way out. At least, when the Doctor and I were captured, the Monster was still fighting. The flying bat army took the Doctor and I directly to Dracula himself. Doctor Frankenstein was removed from the room and Dracula told me I had a special purpose…

“I have searched everywhere,” said The Monster, pulling me back into the present. “I heard Dracula had a lair in the north. I spoke with the merman king. He was the first who didn’t scream in fear at my face. He pointed me higher to the mountains to a colony of werewolves. I’ve been all over looking for Father.” he said, trailing off. The tears from his eyes nestled in the scars of his face, making them shimmer in the candlelight. He was terrifying. He turned his back towards me. I started to walk forward but the Monster spoke again, this time, less hollow sounding. 

“But then I found him. Dracula,” he sneered the name. He spun around and faced me. I felt my lungs tighten in my chest. “His army lay dead around him and my hands were around his throat. I told him I wouldn’t rest until all of his kind were dead. And he laughed. Laughed! And said it was ironic.” He paused and I felt the hair on my arms and neck rise like an electrical storm. “He said in order to kill all his kind I would have to kill my Father and his friend.” 

He knew. I felt the wings on my back burst open. Ever since I had been bitten by Dracula himself, I was no longer human. And it was my mission from Dracula to kill the Frankenstein Monster. Just as it had been my mission from the Doctor to create him. 

Leave a comment